Energy Beyond Oil

What’s the future new energy?

Event Details


SICCAS, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
F14, Building 4,No.1295 Dingxi Road (close to Changning Road), Changning District China


October 31, 2014 from 10:30 am to 12:30 pm Asia/Shanghai (UTC+08:00)


Free of Charge but RSVP is required

This lecture will address the planetary emergency that has arisen from the continued depletion of fossil fuel resources, which has led to the green house warming and unprecedented environmental pollution. Future energy options in particular the quest for renewable and carbon-free source will be assessed. Viable options will be explored to fill the terra-watt gap that will open up during the next few decades due to the growth of the world population. The recent advent and amazing rise of a new generation and highly efficient and low cost photovoltaic converters based on perovskite pigments as light absorbers will be discussed. Mesoscopic photosystem that mimic the primary process of natural photosynthesis in generating fuels from sunlight will also be presented.

Michael Graetzel

Prof. Michael Graetzel pioneered the use of nano-material in energy conversion systems, in particular photovoltaic cells, lithium-ion batteries, and photo-electrochemical devices for the splitting of water into hydrogen and oxygen by sunlight. He is credited with discovering a new type of solar cell based on dye sensitized nano-crystalline oxide films. His most recent awards include the Faraday Medal (2001), the European Grand Prix of Innovation and Technology (2000), the Albert Einstein World Award of Science (2012), the Gutenberg Research Award (2011), the Paul Karrer Gold Medal (2011) and the Millennium Technology Grand Prize (2010). He was selected by the Scientific American magazine as one of the 50 top researchers in the world.

Come and join the event, and learn more from the expert present!

18: 30 – 18:50 Registration
18: 50 – 19:15 Welcome
19:15 – 19:45  Lecture by Prof. Michael Graetzel,
                       Director of the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces, EPFL.
19:45 – 20:00  Q&A session
20:00 – 20:30 Cocktail reception